29.3 C
Saturday, April 13, 2024
HomeNewsManchester City wins their first Champions League trophy

Manchester City wins their first Champions League trophy

Manchester City has added their long-yearned Champions League trophy to the haul of trophies this campaign after they trailed Italian side Inter Milan in a 1-0 victory at Istanbul. 

In a game that was difficult to decide following the beefed up midfield by the sides, the first half ended goalless with the talisman of City, Kevin De Bruyne coming off early due to an injury

in the Second half, Defensive midfielder, Rodri came through with a shot outside the 18-yard box which put Onana in a web leaving the ball to enter the net.

The English giants have repeated a treble in a decade after they won the Premier League, Carabao Cup, and FA Cup in the 2018–2019 season. The Champions League trophy is the icing on the cake for Pep Guardiola and his men, as they are the first Manchester City team to win the Champions League after 54 years of the campaign drought.

Pep Guardiola was not outwitted by Carlo Ancelotti’s silent tactics this season as they trod Real Madrid in a 5-1 “revenge” semi-final to advance to their second final in three seasons against the blue and blacks of Inter Milan at Instabul. 

In a fixture that was teased by many fans and pundits around the world to be a 

Manchester City has had a glorious campaign this season after hauling a treble and individual awards to sign out of the season. In a 2-1 victory over rival Manchester United at Wembley, they clinched their second FA Cup under Pep Guardiola. Toppling the Premier League table with 89 points out of 28 wins, losing 5 and drawing 5 games, they reinstated the English trophy at the Etihad Stadium for the third season running. 

Manager Pep Guardiola was adjudged the Premier League Coach of the Year for the fourth time out of his seven seasons with the Cityzens. Following his team’s riveting performance in the English league, a few outstanding players were awarded. Kevin De Bruyne was named the playmaker of the season, and Norwegian forward Erling Haaland was named the young player and player of the year.

Four Manchester City players also made it to the Premier League Team of the Season. Goal machine Erling Haaland came off as one of the forwards with a jaw-breaking record as the player with the most goals in the league in a single season.

Portuguese right-center back Ruben Dias, a former Premier League player of the year (2020–2021), joined the team sheet. 

Spanish international Rodri came off as the defensive midfielder of the season. 

Belgian midfielder Kevin De Bruyne, with 16 assists and seven goals, was named the central midfielder of the season 

Pep Guardiola has won 12 titles with Manchester City: 5 Premier League titles (2017-18, 2018-19, 2020-21, 2021-22, and 2022-23), the Carabao Cup: 2017-18, 2018-19, 2019-20, 2020-21, FA Cup: 2018-19, 2022–23, and the Champions League (2022-23)

This also puts Erling Haaland ahead of his competitors for the most coveted football award, the Ballon d’Or.

Richmond Ampofo Fordjour
Richmond Ampofo Fordjour
Richmond Ampofo Fordjour is a Student Journalist at the University of Media, Arts, and Communication, Uni-MAC GIJ. He is a Research enthusiast and an avid reader.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular